When the Governor releases a proclamation of disaster activating the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program, it activates the Community Action Agencies serving the disaster affected county(ies) to provide Disaster Case Management services


Disaster Case Management includes time-limited services to eligible households to develop and carry out a Disaster Recovery Plan, providing guidance, advice, and referral in obtaining a service, or assisting in obtaining resources from various providers that address a serious need essential to the Household to prevent, mitigate, or overcome a disaster-related hardship, injury, or adverse condition.

Disaster Case Managers serve as a primary point of contact, assisting the household in coordinating necessary services and resources to address the client’s complex disaster recovery needs in order to re-establish normalcy. Disaster Case Managers rely on the client to play an active or lead role in their recovery.


The Iowa Individual Disaster Assistance Grant Program (IIAGP) offers grants to families whose household’s annual income is at 200% or less of the federal poverty level.  Each qualifying household may receive up to $5,000.00. To view eligible items, see the IIAGP/IDCM Rules.

The IIAGP is activated when the Governor issues a disaster proclamation turning on IIAGP for the affected counties in the disaster declaration.

The grant application may be download by clicking on Iowa Disaster Assistance Application.  Applications can be turned in to a local Community Action Association, go to to find your local agency.

Click here to learn more about the impact of Community Action disaster programs in 2016.

Current Disaster Updates:

Governor’s Proclamation: Clayton, Allamakee, Fayette and Winneshiek counties  July 14 (Clayton county) and July 20 (Clayton, Allamakee, Fayette and Winneshiek counties).  Bremer, Buchanan, Clinton and Johnson counties on July 22. Chickasaw, Dubuque, Floyd and Kossuth counties on July 25. The application deadline for the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program has passed for the previously declared counties. You can still receive assistance from the Iowa Disaster Case Management program. Find your agency here!



The Home Energy Savers (HES) program helps put energy efficiency upgrades within reach for Iowa families with a limited income. Qualifying participants pay just 10% of the project costs and Alliant Energy pays the rest. These upgrades help bring down monthly energy costs. The HES program is modeled after the Weatherization Assistance Program.

Families may choose any/all of these energy efficiency measures:

Air sealing
New furnace
New water heater
New Refrigerator or freezer
And more

Program Eligibility

Household income must be between 200% – 300% the Federal Poverty Level. Participants need to be Alliant Energy duel-fuel customers.

To find out if this program is available in your area, contact your local agency.