Skip to content

Tenant-Based Rental Assistance


Tenant-Based Rental Assistance (TBRA) helps families with a limited income rent safe, sanitary housing in Iowa. TBRA helps provide payments to make up the difference between the amount the household can afford to pay for housing and the local rent standards. TBRA can also assist with other housing costs, such as security and utility deposits. Iowa Community Action Agencies implement the TBRA program with funding
from the Iowa Finance Authority.

Program Eligibility

Household income must be at or below 80% of the area median income (AMI). The level of TBRA subsidy varies and is based upon the income of the household, the particular unit the household selects and the local rent standard

TBRA assists individual households, rather than subsidizing particular rental projects. Eligible rental units must meet local housing codes and standards and Section 8 Housing Quality Standards (HQS).

Local Agencies Offering Program

Counties Served
  • Boone
  • Jasper
  • Marion
  • Polk
  • Warren
Counties Served
  • Benton
  • Delaware
  • Dubuque
  • Iowa
  • Jackson
  • Johnson
  • Jones
  • Linn
  • Washington
Counties Served
  • Adair
  • Adams
  • Madison
  • Ringgold
  • Taylor
  • Union
Counties Served
  • Woodbury
Counties Served
  • Buena Vista
  • Clay
  • Dickinson
  • Emmet
  • Hamilton
  • Humboldt
  • O’Brien
  • Osceola
  • Palo Alto
  • Pocahontas
  • Webster
  • Wright
Counties Served
  • Appanoose
  • Davis
  • Jefferson
  • Keokuk
  • Mahaska
  • Van Buren
  • Wapello